Skip Navigation
Office of the Provost

Office of the Provost

Stamford Campus Interim Director Announcement

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the appointment of the interim director for our Stamford Campus. David Souder, a professor and administrator in the School of Business, will take on this role, beginning July 1.

David is an experienced leader at UConn who has held a variety of administrative positions. He has served as the interim dean and the associate dean for graduate programs in the School of Business. Currently he serves as the academic director of the school’s Executive MBA program and the PhD coordinator for the Management Department.

I look forward to working with David to steward the Stamford Campus while we prepare for a national search for the next director. The Stamford Campus has grown in recent years, with the addition of new residence halls, new academic programs, and increased enrollment. He will also join a dedicated and knowledgeable leadership team who have been critical to the campus’s continued development, including Associate Campus Director Terry Reilly. David succeeds Terrence Cheng, who was named as president of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities. Terrence has been a leading force in Stamford’s growth, as well as strengthening the campus as an integral part of the surrounding communities in Stamford and Fairfield County, and across the state.

David was recently promoted to the rank of professor in the Management Department, where he has taught courses in strategic management, statistics, and entrepreneurship since 2007.  He earned his BS from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, with concentrations in finance and strategic management, and his PhD in strategic management and organization from the University of Minnesota.  David’s research focuses on corporate short-termism and long-term thinking, and he frequently speaks with media and business groups on related topics.

Please join me in congratulating David on this new role.


Carl Lejuez
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs