Skip Navigation
Office of the Provost


The University of Connecticut recognizes the outstanding contributions and achievements its faculty, students, and staff through numerous awards. For more information, please see below.

The Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor Award

The Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor is the highest honor that the University bestows on faculty who have demonstrated excellence in teaching, research and service.

Philip E. Austin Endowed Chair

Philip E. Austin was the 13th president of the University of Connecticut (UConn), serving from 1996 to 2007. During his presidency, UConn experienced tremendous growth, driven by the UConn 2000 program and expanding enrollment. President Austin led the university through a dramatic transformation, a five-fold growth in the endowment, an increased reputation for academic excellence, national athletic success and many other points of pride. President Austin led the university's transformation into its present status as a leading public university in the nation. 

At the time of his (first) retirement, a group of alumni and supporters created the Philip E. Austin Endowed Chair (the Austin Chair) to recognize President Austin’s many contributions to the university, and to honor his many years of leadership and service. Faculty who hold the chair will continue Dr. Austin’s legacy of excellence, working to further elevate UConn’s national prominence in the areas of policy-relevant research, public engagement, interdisciplinary scholarship, and student engagement.

The Austin Chair is rotating and the term of the current holder of the chair ends on June 30, 2021. This call for applications will be for the next Austin Chair, which will begin on July 1, 2021. Applications are due by 5 p.m. on May 5, 2021.

Provost’s Outstanding Service Award

The Provost’s Outstanding Service Award is designed to honor and recognize those who have demonstrated excellence in service to the University of Connecticut that far exceeds reasonable expectations of their positions. The award will honor faculty whose volunteer service (i.e., not that assigned as part of one’s job description or expectations in teaching, research or assigned service) is exemplary in enhancing the University’s mission in teaching, research, service, or engagement.

By honoring such individuals, the University demonstrates its commitment to service as an activity essential to its mission and to its governance, provides incentive for faculty to pursue activities that enhance the quality of their service, and emphasizes the importance of outstanding service.

Provost’s Awards for Excellence in Community Engaged Scholarship

Community-Engaged Scholarship is integral to the academic endeavor and to the institution-wide mission of a land-grant university. Such scholarship arises from the involvement of members of the university community in the academically relevant work of discovery, creativity, integration, teaching, application, and engagement in a context of collaboration and reciprocity with the community (local, regional/state, national, or global) to create conditions for the public good, culminating in sustainable change and dissemination of these activities.

Each awardee will be recognized for their exemplary work in Public Engagement and will:

  • Receive an appropriately inscribed plaque.
  • Have their name engraved on the Plaque of Awardees, located in the Office of the Provost, Gulley Hall.
  • Be featured in future special feature articles and highlights through other UConn communication platforms and external news sources.

This award recognizes faculty, staff, student, and community efforts. Self-nominations are not allowed.

Nominations are due by 5 p.m., March 18, 2022. Please contact with any questions.


2019 Provost's Award for Excellence in Community Engaged Scholars

Seated from Left to Right: Laura Rodriguez(NRCA Team), Jason Vokoun(NRCA Team), Laura Cisneros(NRCA Team), Jonathan Simmons(NRCA Team), Amy Cabaniss(NRCA Team)

Standing from Left to Right: Emily Wilson(NRCA Team), Nicole Freidenfelds(NRCA Team), Jeremy Pressman(Tenure Faculty), Laura Brown (NNT Faculty), Michael Willig(NRCA Team), Vice Provost John Volin(NRCA Team), Olasubomi Ajayi (UG Student), Provost John Elliott, Marisol Ramos(Staff), Tracy Rittenhouse(NRCA Team), Carol Ann Jackson(Adv Degree Student), Cary Chadwick(NRCA Team)

The Presidential M1 Mentorship Award Program

The Connecticut Convergence Institute for Translation in Regenerative Engineering (CCI) and the Office of the Provost are pleased to announce a Call for Applications for the Presidential M1 Mentorship Award Program. The program has as its intent to create a national model for best practices in mentorship and formalize mentorship as an academic discipline. The Presidential M1 Mentorship Award Program aims to establish a cadre of accomplished UConn faculty who will deliver mentorship to racial and ethnic underrepresented individuals along the biomedical science pipeline.

Award recipients will utilize program funds in support of efforts encompassing recruitment and mentorship of racial and ethnic underrepresented trainees at all stages of the pipeline from middle, high school, undergraduate, and graduate students to junior faculty. Awardees will also publish outcome results and experiences in scholarly journals and electronic media, attend national mentorship conferences, and convene in a bi-annual symposium.

The 2020 recipients have been announced jointly by the Office of the Provost and the Connecticut Convergence Institute: