Skip Navigation
Office of the Provost

COVID-19 Academic Planning


The Provost's Office is leading efforts to plan and provide guidance for faculty and staff about instruction and advising in the context of COVID-19. The group meets weekly and considers issues across University of Connecticut campuses, such as optimizing classroom and course capacity within social distancing guidelines and remote instructional needs; behavioral strategies; and intersections between academics and residential life, research, informational technology, and more.

The members of the group are as follows:

  • Carol Atkinson-Palombo, Chair of the University Senate Executive Committee
  • Terrence Cheng, Director of UConn Stamford
  • Laura Cruickshank, Associate Vice President, Master Planner and Chief Architect
  • Elly Daugherty, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
  • Peter Diplock, Associate Vice Provost for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
  • Nafis Fuad, Graduate Student Senate President
  • Nathan Fuerst, Vice President for Enrollment Planning and Management
  • Amy Gorin, Director of UConn's Institute for Collaboration on Health, Intervention, and Policy
  • Maria Groza, Assistant Director of Space Planning
  • Kristi Henderson, Chief of Staff and Assistant Vice Provost for Strategic Communications
  • Bridget Inzirillo, Director of Academic Finance and Planning 
  • Michael Jednak, Associate Vice President of Facilities Operations
  • Kazem Kazerounian, Dean of the School of Engineering
  • Carl Lejuez, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Michael Mundrane, Vice President and Chief Information Officer 
  • Amanda Pitts, Executive Assistant for Academic Affairs
  • Brian Rockwood, Associate Registrar
  • Rachel Rubin, Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees
  • Jeffrey Shoulson, Vice Provost for Academic Operations
  • Lauren Slingluff, Associate Dean for UConn Library
  • David Souder, Associate Professor in the School of Business
  • Angela Starkweather, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
  • Juli Wade, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Any suggestions for the planning group to consider may be sent to